What the new EU border rules mean for travelers

The EU has formally agreed to a series of recommendations that will allow tourists from outside the EU to visit EU countries, which closed its external borders in the months following the outbreak of Covid-19.

Unsurprisingly, the country in these 14 countries does not include the United States, and the current Covid infection rate in the United States does not meet the standards set by the European Union to treat it as a "safe country."

The standard requires that every country in the list has a similar or lower number than the EU for every 100,000 citizens in the past 14 days (starting on June 15).

Compared with this period, the country must also have a stable or declining trend during this period. "The first 14 days", and the EU will consider the measures taken by each country (such as contact tracking) and the reliability of the data in each country.

The United States not only reported the highest number of coronavirus infections in any country, according to John · According to the latest data from Johns Hopkins University, the current death toll is 2,590,582, but the highest death toll is 126,141.

To allow Americans to enter European countries, the infection rate in the United States will need to be greatly reduced. Europe Tourism has entered a traditional peak period.

These recommendations are expected to take effect as early as July 1. However, it is still up to the member states to decide how to implement any changes in border policies.

] Some of the following new rules The answers to the key questions are as follows:

Which countries are on the list?

The list of countries included in the proposal is: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand , Tunisia, Uruguay.

China, where the virus originated, was not included in the original 14 lists, but if the Chinese are willing, the EU is willing to include it. The government reciprocally allows EU citizens to enter their borders.

If your country is not on the list, are you officially banned from entering the EU?

Officially, no. The EU is not controlled by the borders of any member country. However, it is expected that no country will deviate from the recommended scope, but allow more Many countries have joined and are more likely to restrict travel on the countries in the list.

If your country is not on the list, but you are “a resident of a country on the list, can you still travel to the EU?

According to the guidelines, "whether nationals determine whether temporary restrictions on unnecessary travel apply to third countries, residence in the third country where restrictions on unnecessary travel are removed should be the determining factor (not nationality)." [19659009]Can you travel through another country to circumvent the rules?

No, for the same reason as above.

Will this be enforced by airlines and airports?

The Council of the European Union emphasized that “Member States are still responsible for the content of the implementation of the recommendations” said that this will vary from country to country. The best way here is to contact the national agency or embassy of the country you are traveling in Contact.

How flexible is the suggestion?

It really depends on how you read. The standards and recommendations implemented are very clear, but there is an attachment in the proposal that covers travelers with "basic functions or needs" These include everything from seasonal agricultural workers to diplomats. If you want to check yourself, please scroll to page 10 of this document

When will the list be updated?

The list is expected to be reviewed every two weeks, But EU diplomats emphasized to CNN that the standards and methods are “very unlikely” to change. This means that for a country to be considered safe, its reported Covid data must be lower than the EU data within the past 14 days. [19659009]How will this affect British travelers?

British travelers

The “EU+Zone” includes all member states of its so-called Schengen visa zone (including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania), as well as the four Schengen United Nations.[19659009] Are there any exemptions?

Travelers from countries not included in the list can still enter if they meet the following exemption conditions: EU citizens or family members EU citizens; EU long-term residents or family members; those with "basic Function or need", such as diplomats, medical staff or certain agricultural workers.

Are certain countries excluded due to political reasons?

EU officials have previously emphasized to CNN that what was made this week The decision is not political, but based on science, and its purpose is only to protect citizens from the resurgence of viruses across the continent. However, these officials are waiting for a response from US President Donald Trump, who had previously been in Attacks on the EU on other issues such as trade and foreign policy.

Credit: Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *